Peter Gruss Young Investigator Award

The Peter Gruss Young Investigator Award is given biennially to recognize a young neuroscience investigator for significant contributions to the scientific community through collaboration, creativity, and curiosity-driven research. In addition to recognizing outstanding achievements, it also serves to support research, inspire young scientists, promote collaboration, and acknowledge the outstanding legacy that Dr. Peter Gruss built throughout his honorable career at the Max Planck Society.

Recipient will receive a monetary award of $5,000 and complimentary registration, transportation and four nights hotel accommodations for MPFI’s Sunposium meeting, March 4-6, 2019 at Palm Beach County Convention Center, West Palm Beach, Florida, USA. The award will be presented at the conference, followed by a special lecture given by the recipient.

2018 Dates

Call for nominations
May 1 – August 15, 2018
Recipient announcement
November 1, 2018
Award presentation and special lecture
March 4-6, 2019



  • Actively engaged in neuroscience research at the time the award is given.
  • Show evidence of heading an independent research laboratory.
  • Received a Ph.D., M.D., or equivalent within the past 10 years. Time taken off for child-rearing does not count in these totals. Other special circumstances may be evaluated at the discretion of the selection committee.
  • Post-docs are ineligible.
  • Current Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience scientists are ineligible for nomination.


Nomination Criteria

  • Self-nomination is not permitted.
  • No person may nominate more than one nominee.
  • Members of the selection committee cannot serve as nominators nor write letters of recommendation for this prize.


Nomination materials include the following

  • Nomination letter
  • Current CV (include date on which the advanced degree was awarded)
  • A list of up to five of the nominee’s most important published papers
  • All nomination materials should be uploaded in .pdf format


Selection Committee

David Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.
Scientific Director
Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience
Jupiter, Florida, USA
Bill Hansson, Ph.D.
Vice President
Max Planck Society
Munich, Germany
Ryohei Yasuda, Ph.D.
Scientific Director
Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience
Jupiter, Florida, USA



Helena Decker
Office of Scientific Communications

Read about the 2018 Peter Gruss Young Investigator Award Recipient here